Banana Bread

I have a confession to make.  I have turned into my mother.  When I was younger, I was definitely a careless and reckless person.  My mom was always someone who had to be logical and responsible about something.  Now that I am older, I have acquired her “waste not” attitude.  I hate the idea of throwing away food.  Mostly because I work my ass off for my money and then I have to spend it on groceries.  Sometimes, my boyfriend tells me to pick up some things here or there, like bananas.  And then two weeks later, he hasn’t touched it and they are going bad.  Insert inner scream. 

TADA! I took last-leg bananas and turned them into banana bread! This is nothing new.  I am not saying this is a hack or something ridiculous like that.  I am doing the ta-da because this is the first time I have ever made banana bread, and it was a HIT! I made it using this pin for banana bread, and it was a huuuuge success.  Coming from a country boy whose mama probably made him fresh banana bread every week, it was the ultimate compliment!

Below are the directions from the Food.com site:

  • 1⁄2cup  butter
  • 1 cup  sugar
  • 2 eggs, beaten
  • 4 bananas, finely crushed
  • 1 1⁄2cups  flour
  • 1 teaspoon  baking soda
  • 1⁄2teaspoon  salt
  • 1⁄2teaspoon  vanilla
  1. Cream together butter and sugar.
  2. Add eggs and crushed bananas.
  3. Combine well.
  4. Sift together flour, soda and salt. Add to creamed mixture. Add vanilla.
  5. Pour into greased and floured loaf pan.
  6. Bake at 350 degrees for 60 minutes.
  7. Keeps well, refrigerated.
Leave a Reply

