Book of the Month: September

Ok, this is the pinnacle of me being #basic right now, but I finally got around to reading Eat, Pray, Love which I literally purchased probably…four years ago.  When I had bought it, I was still in Pharmacy School and was in the mood to become more worldly.  Also, I was also in a phase where I wanted to read no textbooks and only books that made me happy.  Obviously that does not work when you are in a rigorous doctoral program.

After unpacking all my stuff from school, I have been keeping this book on my bookshelf, collecting dust.  In an effort to re-invigorate myself (also I ran out of money on my iTunes gift card, and had no more books on my iPad), I picked this book off my bookshelf prior to a bubble bath.

I kinda avoided this book for a while because it was just too main stream.  It is such a basic girl book that I kinda felt judge for even having it.  However, the introduction itself already wrapped me in.  It had a structure that not only worked for the book, but it had a prayer-like format.  It was further divided into the countries she visited.  I can’t divulge too much, but it was a book of finding your inner self, rather than a book of conversion.

I got my social media start running the @CatholicGrlProb twitter account.  It is still something that I hold personally (who is ready for the Pope’s visit??).  In a discussion with my co-worker the other day, why can’t people be more than one religion?  I don’t mean mixing Catholicism with Judaism.  I mean why can’t we be both Christian and Buddhist.  My dad’s side of the family is Buddhist, and in learning about it during my high school religion class (yes, in Catholic School, they do teach you about other religions), the Eastern religions are more of a way of life rather than about a deity.

Anyways, this book puts a lot of things into perspective.  It’s about finding out what is important and what is not.  In addition, the bookmark I’m using was from the same co-worker, when she went to Turkey.  Another symbol about ow the smallest things can be so beautiful and bring you joy.

Leave a Reply

