Daily Dose: 9/11 We Remember

Usually on Fridays I post my weekly highlights.  Actually as of late, I have dropped the ball on this.  Today, however, there are no highlights, just remembrance.  I remember being a freshman in high school taking a geometry test and wondering why the windows were shaking and why all of the county’s fire trucks were zooming by.  I remember going to the next period and sitting in the computer lab for my history class and our principal coming on the PA saying that the Twin Towers have crashed and that a plane had hit the Pentagon.

 

I think hearing about the the Pentagon was the hardest to bear.  It literally hit so close to home.  We weren’t just in the same area, or the same state.  We were in the same city.  I had classmates whose parents worked in the Pentagon.  I had classmates whose parents worked in Fire and Rescue.  No one could reach them.  I think the most heart breaking thing was watching friends pace up and down the hallways on their phones trying to reach their parents.  Remember, this was 2001.  We had brick Nokia phones, and they surely were not allowed in school. 9/11 really changed all that when you think about it.  Phones were left on loud and people answered and ran out of the class room to answer it.  Our teachers didn’t even bat an eye, in fact they encouraged it.

 

We didn’t have school September 12, 2001.  We returned sometime later in the week with the scariest question you could ask someone, because the possible answers could be devastating:  Is your family alright? Did everyone come home?

 

I took the picture below at the 9/11 Memorial when I went to New York back in 2014.  It’s moving.  A lot of people wondered why the memorial or World Trade One wasn’t built directly on top of that.  I think that would have been a farce.  This memorial shows that many people did not come home that night.   It shows the void they have left in our lives and in our hearts.  It shows that nothingness can sometimes mean the most.

September 11 and April 16 are the hardest days of the year for me.  It was two national tragedies that I found myself in.  Although I am not happy they happen, I am happy to see what they brought about.  Humanity.  People helping one another, people supporting one another, and people not afraid to break down in front of one another.  It is sorrowful that it takes such a thing to bring out humanity within us.  But from hope comes light.

These days of remembrances now serve as a reminder for us to help one another and to show the pride that we have in our survival.  So, instead of dragging this on, I wanted to share a patriotic Lilly 5×5 from their instagram:

Leave a Reply

