NutriBullet RX

You know I love anything that has “RX” tagged onto the end of it (Lexus RX, the official pharmacist car).  That being said, I was recently in the market for a blender.  The Vitamix is a little out of my price range, so we were looking for something more along the lines of the NutriBullet or Ninja.  We really wanted the functionality of a super blender that could make soups–because we are that lazy.

I originally went into Bed, Bath, and Beyond for one of the regular NutriBullet models.  My BF refuses to go for the one they had at Costco because “the motor isn’t good enough.” He’s right.  The one at Costco is a 600-watt motor.  We had planned on getting a 900-watt NutriBullet at BBB until we asked an employee his opinion on all the blenders.  We had mentioned wanting to make soups with it, so he pointed us in the direction with a blender with that capability: The NutriBullet RX.

DSC00746 Magic Bullet NutriBullet Rx N17-1001 Blender, Black

Well….we have yet to make any soups with it, but we have been going to town on the smoothies!  The blender comes with a recipe book for smoothies and soups, so we are giving those a go-around.  We have a smoothie every morning and it’s pretty tasty!  We’ve been trying “The Tummy Tamer,” as it comes as an easy transition into smoothie life.

DSC00743

I just load up all the ingredients in one of the cups (3 sizes), attach the blade, and invert the cup into the motor.  We also got a hefty upgrade on the motor–1700 watts!  The smaller cup makes about two servings of a smoothie, and enough to fill up to of the large Tervis cups for us to take to work.  
DSC00744I had trouble cleaning it the first day, but one of my co-workers suggested I throw in a bit of dish soap and cycle it through the blender a few times for it to heat it and become its own dish washer–it comes out absolutely shining after a spin and a rinse under the tap!  Cleaning it is probably my favorite part.

We love it so much, we are getting it for his mom for Mother’s Day!  She is having some issues with her teeth, so it’s been all smoothies and soups for her lately.  With the easy use and easy clean up, we’re hoping her day goes by a little smoother when she uses it. <Insert “look at all this extra time I have for my family!” infomercial spiel> Saving tip: the blender is $200, with a 20% off coupon that basically never expires, it became $160.  Before I go anywhere to make a big purchase, I always see if my credit card company has a gift card I can redeem with my points to use.  I could use a $100 gift card, so the blender came out to about $60 for me!

We’re super excited to try out new recipes, but for right now, we are really enjoying “The Tummy Tamer.”  The recipe below makes two servings:

2 cups of spinach

3/4 cups grapes

3/4 cups pitted cherries

1/2 cup oatmeal

1 TBSP chia seeds

1/2 cup pure apple juice (can only find at whole foods so far)

1 1/2 cup water

I bought this NutriBullet RX myself and is not affiliated nor sponsored with the makers of NutriBullet or Magic Bullet. 

One thought on “NutriBullet RX

Leave a Reply

