Ear Bud Make Over

You all have been there. You reach into your push to grab your ear buds and you end up pulling out a jumbled birds nest of god-knows-what. I would spend more time than necessary untangling it.  Its rubbery texture doesn’t help it at all. I think it actually makes it worse.

A few years ago, I saw a pin to wrap it in embroidery floss to keep it from tangling.  Time consuming for sure, but it is worth a try, right?

DSC00706

I was cleaning out my craft drawer and saw that I had some white embroidery floss left over from another project.  I mean, I didn’t want to use a bright color anyways, definitely didn’t want to draw any attention to the fact that I had to dummy-proof my earbuds.

DSC00707

So I tied a knot and got to work.  I used to make a lot of friendship bracelets as a kid.  The kind of knot and design the pin showed was what I used to call the “Spinning spiral.” Basically to take one string and tie it all the way around.  The anatomy of the knot puts the string at a slant, so when you tie it again, it actually shifts over to the right until it wraps all the way around again–hence the “spiral.”

DSC00708

Since there is a little tail, I make sure to wrap the knot all the way around the tail so it doesn’t stick out and I don’t have to do any trimming.

DSC00709

It’s a little tedious at first because you have to gold the tail in place and make sure it doesn’t fray.

DSC00710

After a while, it kinda all comes into place and you have a nice design. The only hard part is making sure everything is even. Maybe it’s my OCD

DSC00711

 

NO MESS NO FUSS! My boyfriend was a little skeptical when I told him I was doing this. But guess who is fussing over his ear buds while I block out his swears at them!

Leave a Reply

