4.16

Today has always been a sad day. It’s in 8 years since the worst day of my life. Over the years, I have heard debates about gun laws. I have heard motives to make schools safer.  I have heard the promotion of mental illness awareness. I stay silent on a lot of those issues, not because I don’t care, but because I was there. 10675698_10103391162155713_2684577104367252499_n copy

 

Even if I picked a side, the events of April 16, 2007 would still be ingrained in my memory. It’s hard, after witnessing everything, to say if only we had this law, these events wouldn’t have happened.  It’s like saying, if your dad had married his high school sweetheart, you wouldn’t be here. It’s a hard circumstance to fathom, just because you’ve known one thing to be true your whole life, and here is a debate to wipe it all away.

Regardless, the fact still stands that, on this day 8 years ago, we say bravery, heroics, and hope for one another. It is not so much the horrific actions, but the stories of togetherness that emerged. I am forever proud to be a Virginia Tech alum.

Leave a Reply

