Easy Morning Oats

It’s become part of my morning routine to make a bowl of oatmeal before I head to the gym in the morning. It’s a little sad to know that I made a great bowl and I won’t get to eat it for about two hours. By then it’s all congealed, but it’s still pretty good! DSC00639

1/2 cup instant oats

1 cup water

1 TBSP chia seeds

1 tsp brown sugar

1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

1/2 banana, sliced

DSC00640

Heat up the oatmeal per box instructions, which is around 2 minutes. I then add the other ingredients and mix it until it’s pretty even. I love adding chia seeds because it really helps with the texture of the oatmeal. In case you’re wondering, I eat the other half of the banana before my workout to prevent muscle cramping halfway through.

DSC00641

 

As much as I want to scarf this down in the car on the way to the gym, I really cannot wait until after my workout to enjoy this bowl of goodness. Yes, I leave it in the car while I work out. Yes, my car does smell of vanilla-brown sugar-banana delight when I get in.

Leave a Reply

