Winter Skin Secrets

Winter is kind to no one. While writing this, we are all hunkering down for the snow storm that is about to pound the East Coast. Back in the day, we used to just take the weather forecast as a joke.  Snow storms in DC?? Whateva, we do what we want. Then my first year of pharmacy school hit (ok, whatever I was in Richmond, but it’s close), and the snow was out of control. Like it just hit everywhere and A LOT.

My point is, winter is here. It sucks. And it takes a toll on my already-dry skin. I did manage to find some favorites that will SAVE THE DAY.
DSC00642

 

Hand: EOS Hand Cream A fan of the lip balm balls? YA me too. The hand cream is just as moisturizing and smells amazing. I have been using Cherry Blossom (Hello, spring, are you here yet?). I should also mention that I love O’Keefe’s Working Hands, as I was slathering it on during my hospital rotation days. I couldn’t get my hands on it for this picture, but it is definitely a life saver.

Cuticles: Deborah Lippmann The Cure OH MY. Ok this little cube is super expensive but it is so worth it.  I say that very seldom about beauty products. With winter around and the manicures are very infrequent, The Cure is the perfect to nourish your dry peeling cuticles.

Body: Amlactin Cerapeutic Restoring Body Lotion Remember that thing I said about dry skin? Yeah my skin is very dry and I have several bouts of eczema throughout the year. I generally love using my Cerave Lotion, the first to use alpha-hydroxy ceramide (skin builders, basically), but it is SUPER expensive and sometimes hard to find. Amlactin recently came out with similar technology, but with their own formula. I came across a tiny bottle at a CVS and it’s been a total skin saver.

Feet: O’Keefe’s Healthy Feet foot cream A brother of Working Hangs, the Healthy Feet is great for dry cracking on your feet, which probably goes through the rough and tumble during the winter.

Face: Josie Maran Argan Oil Ok, I definitely had a lot of trouble trying to find a place for this product in my life. I had bought it a few years ago and after woes of spilling it everywhere, and making my hair look like a greasy mess, I had to throw it to the side.  With winter upon us, I found my skin so dry, to the point that it was cracking and peeling on my face.  I stumbled upon my Josie Maran Argan Oil again and slathered it on my face before bed and woke up with skin that was not as thirsty any longer. I definitely use a light hand on it, as my skin is prone to oiliness.

Lips: First Aid Beauty Ultra Repair Lip Therapy This might be the reason I am even writing this post. I love this balm SO much. I started getting cracking peeling lips when the cold weather finally hit. I put on the balm before I went to bed and woke up with perfectly smooth lips. I am 100% sold on this product.

So these have been my life savers for the past few weeks. Spoiled with an unusually warm December and then January came in and set me back in my place. NOT COOL.

Leave a Reply

