Summertime Treats: Agua Fresca

As someone who enjoys a good margarita on a hot summer afternoon (and let’s face it, it has been beyond hot in the DC area these days), my waistline has not been appreciating the jumbo margs I’ve been downing after work.  A few months ago, I went to a Mexican restaurant called Sandia. I was with my boyfriend, who doesn’t drink, but I still wanted a cool, refreshing drink.  Since “sandia” means “watermelon” in Spanish, I searched earnestly for something that included watermelons on the menu. Literally one thing: the watermelon Agua Fresca. Ah-mazing. In a jolt of excitement I asked how they made it. Literally, just pureed watermelon.

When I got home I searched Pinterest to see if anyone else had discovered this amazing refreshment.  Of course they had, and there are a billion different varieties of it. When I am feeling ambitious I *might* try them out, but in the mean time, I wanted to make the simplest watermelon Agua Fresca at home:

1) Cube up some watermelons (honestly, I just found some in the fridge that my mom happened to cut last night)

2) Place them in a blender or Mix Cup (I am using my stick blender)

3) Blend your little heart out

4) Add a cup of water and some honey to taste

5) Enjoy!

DSC00513 DSC00514 DSC00515 DSC00516 DSC00517

Always in a Tervis, perfect for going poolside!

Leave a Reply

