Egg Muffins

Five. More. Days. Of. AdvoCare. It’s been a struggle, but Kevin and I are seeing the light at the end of the tunnel. I think this 24-day challenge has really highlighted the poor food choices we have made.  We are huge stress eaters, and we love sweets.

With a lot of free time on my days off, I become a monster, ready to eat everything in sight. Early on, I started making egg muffins, which are packed full of protein and great to have on hand when I have a snack attack.

20140527-104130.jpg

 

The muffins are basically veggie, meat, and egg whites. I basically chose my favorite fillings and just went with it. I had a lot of mushrooms and red peppers on hand, so those were definitely going in.

 

 

20140527-104139.jpg

 

Since AdvoCare advises the limiting of red meat, we cooked up some ground bison, which was allowed, and added it to the cups.

20140527-104148.jpg

 

I filled up each muffin tin with a little bit of each, one website said to add only a teaspoon of each, but that is minuscule! The gabs between each large chunk of veggie and meat allows more than enough room for the egg whites to fill up.

20140527-104207.jpg

 

To avoid the extra calories, we used egg white cartons and filled the rest of the tin up.

20140527-104219.jpg

 

Bake at 350 degrees for 25-30 minutes until firm.

20140527-104232.jpg

 

I later made another batch that was all veggie by finely chopping up some spinach. I also found that the cupcake liners were super bothersome.  If you just spray the muffin tin with cooking spray, the egg muffins will slide right now and are much more fun to enjoy.

Do you have a go-to snack during snack attacks?

Leave a Reply

