Chronicles of a Catholic Girl

Since I came out of the anon closet on the day of my hooding, I just wanted to share just a piece of my life as the Catholic Girl that I so greatly mock now on twitter.  For those of you wondering, @CatholicGrlProb is, for lack of a better word, a parody account I started a couple years ago.  By parody, I mean I really started tweeting about my dysfunctional life after having been raised hard-core Catholic.

I am still a practicing Catholic today, but I just have to laugh at myself after emerging from the bubble that my parents kept me in for so long.  After college and grad school, I feel like many of the things that I used to think were normal, are actually really absurd.

The awkward high school life I had can only be described in so many words… or in this case, pictures. From my scrapbook. That I made every summer. Of each year of high school.  Now that I think of it, I was just completely neurotic.  I cannot even use Catholicism as an excuse. Yes, these are taken directly from my scrapbook, with the clingy plastic sheet still in tact.

20130519-223521.jpg

 

V-neck navy sweater with my plaid skirt? Check.

20130519-223531.jpg

 

Navy polo shirt for the summer uniform? Yup.

20130519-223645.jpg

 

Extra school spirit for a Mascot reflecting the Crusades, where tons of Christians killed people in the name of God…yea that happened. Go Knights!

20130519-223800.jpg

 

And then this happened. Happy Sweet Sixteen to me. Bubblegum pink ball gown? Bingo.

I am was so weird

Leave a Reply

