Diamonds are a Girl’s Best Friend

 

 

So I have this thing about buying myself presents at the end of each rotation.  My sister thinks it is stupid, but hell, these rotations are hard!  For the end of rotation 8, I got myself a Diamond Candle! It is not near as lavish as my other self-presents, but I had been jonesing for one for a while.

If you don’t know what a Diamond Candle is, it is a cracker jack box for grown ups.  Inside each candle is a ring worth $5,10,100,1000, or 5000.  You can guess what ring I got… They are about $25, which is the price of a Yankee Candle anyways, so it’s not terrible, plus a ring!

20130419-085135.jpg

 

I got myself the Orange Vanilla candle since I am absolutely obsessed with orange creamsicles and need a little bit of summer flavor in my life.

20130419-085145.jpg

 

A foil on the side tells me exactly where my ring is.  What a tease! It looks so far down, and that means it have to be burning for a while in order for me to get my prize.

20130419-085157.jpg

 

So I burned it..and waited.  As for the smell, I was not impressed.  At first it smelled like burning, which makes sense as it is a candle.  Otherwise the smell was not too strong, which was good because it kinda smelled like a fart.  Lame.

20130419-085207.jpg

 

In other news, I went to the gym and left it burning.  I did leave it in the bathroom, where water was accessible in case anything happened and told my sister to be on the lookout.  Safety first.  By the time I got home, my little foil piece floated to the top and I got my ring! It definitely is not worth anything special, but I think it’s really pretty!  The downside of DC is that you get what you get and you dont get upset.  This ring obviously doesn’t fit me, but it fits my sister!

There are also several “trade” groups on facebook where people can buy or swap unwanted rings.  People have gotten some real beauties!

Leave a Reply

