Six Years

I really thought I could write a decent post for today that could honor the 32 lives that were lost on April 16, 2007.  Last year was the 5-year anniversary, which was a big milestone for us.  The fact of the matter is, that it really doesn’t get any better.  My life goes on, and I have my big achievements, but the pain and the agony of reliving those memories persist.

Every April, I find my heart sinking and trying to find the words to talk about what happened that day.  I just can’t.  After yesterday’s events in Boston, I find it even more difficult.  There is truly a lot of evil in this world, but there is just as much hope.

In the days following the shootings on my dear and beautiful campus, we were given so much hope and support from all around the country.  That is what kept me going.  That is what kept all of us going.  While we were sad, we knew that we had to continue our lives because 32 people couldn’t anymore.

Taking a break from my usual posts of my daily musings and outfits of the day, I’d like to share a video that gave me hope and began my own personal healing of the day’s events. At a time where the world was watching us, waiting for us to crumble, my classmates and I stood tall and proud, setting an example for all of us in moments of despair.

While my prayers are with Boston, my heart is forever with the Hokies on this day.

Leave a Reply

