New Hope

It’s the 7-day countdown to Christmas, and while it would otherwise be a joyous and exhausting time of the year, the events of last friday have put me in state of shock, where I cant really say anything or do anything that seemed meaningful. The hard fact of reality is that 26 lives were taken from us far too soon. There are presents under the tree that will go unopened and we will be missing the cries and shrieks of joy that come with them.

Hearing about such tragedies hits so close to home for me. On Friday, I found myself in the state I am every April 16th, trying to come to terms of the evil in the world, reeling in pain, and always trying to understand how something like this could happen.

Media and news come and go. It’s been five and a half years since I had been locked down in my dorm room at Virginia Tech, waiting for a friend to call before seeing his face on TV as a victim. While the world was allowed to forget about Blacksburg a few months at a time, it is something that those affected have to deal with every day. Certain words, actions, and even smells can trigger a memory of that day.

It terrifies me that these children now have to deal with the frustration, anger, and sadness related to that day. My similar emotions related to my young college years were not easy to deal with, it wasn’t something my classmates should have had to deal with, and certainly not something children should have to deal with it.

This blog is supposed to be a narrative of my life with pharmacy. I am in my last year, having just accepted a job offer, and sent to graduate in less than 5 months. These are achievements I never thought I would reach on April 16, 2007. Ever since that day, the thought of “Living for 32” was my motivation throughout the past 5 years. Now these children, the community of Newtown, have their own motivation to live for 26. All I ask is that you keep watch of the survivors, and watch for the beautiful lives they are living for their classmates.

After our own tragedy, I saw the immense amount of good that remains in the world. The human spirit will never be a victim. Strangers reach out to each other and I saw the amazing outpouring of love from all around the world in the form of flowers, gifts, posters, and 1000 origami cranes for peace.

While the world moves on, our tragedies are something that we live with everyday. What we also live with is the reminder that there is much much more good in the world than there is evil. It took me so long calm my thoughts and write about this. It is a sensitive subject and people forget that not everyone is over it. When I was at my conference in Las Vegas, I met someone who found out I had attended Virginia Tech and had a nonchalant political tirade about the shootings there. It was abrasive and rude to be the least, and it took everything inside of me not to really give him a piece of my mind (future employment prospect stricken).

Even in the wake of tragedy, the world can benefit by standing by one another.  Helping each other.  With one that involves the so many young lives, it serves well to set a great example for our youth.  Watch their successes and push them even when they think they can’t do the impossible. Much love.

20121219-142511.jpg

Leave a Reply

