Moving home: bookshelf

My bookshelf is used for anything but books. I tend to use it as a display piece for frames, as well as for my pretty jewelry and fragrance bottles.

Since moving home, I found it hard to find adequate wall space for my shelf. It is now sitting in a corner against a wall and facing my bed (my sister’s idea). It’s close proximity to my bed has turned it into an enormous nightstand and storage space.

20120815-090659.jpg

Toward the top of my shelf is the display piece. I had mentioned earlier that I LOVE apothecary jars, so I found these little gems as a set. I’m not quite sure what to put in them yet. My sister wants to put candy in them but I’m nit sure how I feel about putting food where dust easily collects. The first shelf holds books I have just read, currently reading, or on my short list. Now that the Olympics are over, I can finally get back to pleasure reading. I also put up some photobooks I got from my professional fraternity to celebrate our previous three years with them.

20120815-092134.jpg
My shelves in the middle are more functional and hold a lot of things for everyday use. I like to keep my practical jewelry within reach on this shelf. This includes my pearls and more subtle pieces to my colorful, but small pieces. I recently discovered Fornash, which is the same jewelry sold on the Lilly Pulitzer site. They are great for creating stacks with my MK watch! I also have a few fragrances I keep on rotation and also within reach, depending on how I feel on a particular day. The next shelf down is level with my bed, so it holds my iHome, which I use as an alarm clock (still out of commission from the move, but ready to go) and important mail I’m mulling over (a friend’s beautiful wedding invitation).

20120815-093458.jpg
The very bottom of my bookshelf is my secret messy spot. I put a lot of heavy things down here to anchor the shelf down, as plush carpeting and tall light-weight furniture are not friends. I have my enormous nail polish and nail tools nearby. As CollegePrepster said, giving yourself a manicure can be very therapeutic, and non-pharmacological therapy is ALWAYS first line. The very bottom of my shelf has my huge pharmacotherapy textbook (all 2550) pages of it and my high school scrapbooks. I have a love-hate relationship with both of them.

What non-conventional things do you put on your shelves?

Leave a Reply

