Diet Cheerwine Cupcakes

“My life is a constant battle between my love of food and my fear of being fat”

I have such an incredible sweet tooth, it is amazing how I even have any teeth.  A few years ago, my roommate in undergrad made me a “diet cake” that she made from a weight watchers recipe of cake mix, diet soda, pudding mix, and whipped cream. All you do is add 8-10oz soda and bake it per directions on the box!

Lately, I have seen different variations all over pinterest.  For my last day of my last rotation, I made my own variation using diet Cheerwine.  For those of you outside of the Appalachian mountains, Cheerwine is a cherry-flavored soda that is basically liquid crack.

Easy ingredients

A new way to get the perfect amount of batter into the cups! If you have watched Alton Brown cook, it’s a measuring cup that you push through to get all the sticky stuff out

Added cherries on top for extra flavor–SO GOOD!

For my friend’s birthday, I made an orange creamsicle flavored cupcake with diet Sunkist, topped with orange zest.  Try other different flavors!

Leave a Reply

